sans bread

My two best friends Meghan and Laura started an awesome blog over a year ago called The Spatulerattes.  At the time, both were living in Philadelphia and used the blog as a fun way to talk about life, recipes and dating (hence the play on the Bachelorette, c’mon how genius is that?) They have asked me to be a contributor during Power Food Fridays, a special section dedicated to recipe ideas that focus on fueling runners for those long weekend runs. Meghan and I will both be running the Philadelphia Marathon together in November and Laura will join us for the first half of the way running 13.1- Since Laura is covering Power Food Friday this week with a kale smoothie, I thought I’d use the time to post my first recipe.

Training for the marathon has taught me more and more what my body needs and what forms of fuel I want to put in my body. Wheat Belly was a popular craze book and while I don’t advocate cutting out wheat or the trendy “bread = carbs = BAD” equation, it did get me thinking that when I do “carbo load” it needs to be in a smart way. Cutting out uncessessary bread, especially white processed breads, from my diet has been really benefitical.

So, I here is a bread-free pizza recipe that allows all of the other things that make pizza wonderful- cheese, toppings, and the look of “regular” pizza.

Cauliflower pizza crust:

1/2 head of cauliflower, riced

2 or 3 egg whites

1 cup, mozarella cheese

1 tsp. red pepper flakes

1 tsp, minced garlic

toppings of choice (peppers, mushrooms, etc)

Rice your cauliflower in the food processor by pulsing it for a few seconds. When it’s “riced” it should look like the the picture on the right. Place the riced cauliflower in a microwave safe dish and cook for 7 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Use a non-stick brownie tin and spray/rub olive oil on the inside. In a medium bowl, combine the cooked cauliflower, egg whites, mozzarella cheese, garlic and red pepper. Press evenly throughout the baking tin, your crust should be about 1/4 inch thick. Spray a light coat of olive oil over top of the crust. Bake at 450 for 15-17 minutes (I prefer my crust crispier, so I opt for 17-19 minutes).

 

Remove the tin from the oven and it’s time to get creative! Add an extra layer of  cheese (if desired) and your toppings. Put the pizza back in the oven for about 5 minutes or until toppings are heated. * If you plan on adding meat to the pizza such as ground turkey, brown it first and then top it on the pizza. The same for veggies you’d prefer to eat un-crispy. Reason being, the 5 minutes back in the oven is not enough time to cook things thoroughly as it would to saute first.

Some ideas I’ve done: marinara sauce, onion, spinach, mushrooms and a baked egg; homemade black bean hummus, avocado and a sprinkle of goat cheese ; green peppers, yellow onion, butternut squash cubes and cherry tomatoes (shown below).

*Note: I do not eat a lot of cheese, so I cut the amount of mozzarella this recipe calls for in half. Recipe adapted from Daily Dish.

One thought on “sans bread

  1. Pingback: who wants to eat a whole pizza? | pace of mind

Leave a Reply

