bacon

I already have two new obsessions of 2013: turkey bacon and polenta- (NOT together) but still, don’t judge. It all started with my deep love of The Office. I watch re-runs of the best of Michael Scott constantly, so much so that my old roommates in SF used to laugh at how they could always hear it playing from my room when I’d get out of the shower, when I was prepping for a date, when I was falling asleep… 24-7! So, I decided to start re-watching from the pilot and go in order through all the seasons to start 2013 off a humorous note. Yesterday afternoon during my lazy fest I watched The Injury aka the episode where Michael clamps his foot into a George Foreman grill he has laying on the floor beside his bed cooking bacon, then wraps his foot in bubble wrap. During one of his interviews he says the following:

I enjoy having breakfast in bed. I like waking up to the smell of bacon- sue me- and since I don”t have a butler, I have to do it myself. So most nights before I go to bed I will lay six strips of bacon out on my George Foreman Grill. Then I go to sleep. When I wake up, I plug in the grill. I go back to sleep again. Then I wake up to the smell of crackling bacon. It is delicious. It’s good for me. It’s the perfect way to start the day. Today I got up, I stepped onto the grill and it clamped down on my foot. That’s it. I don’t see what’s so hard to believe about that.

From then on I had bacon on my brain, a food I haven’t eaten in years and suddenly I became obsessed. So, I decided to take a chance and grab some Jenny-O Turkey bacon at the grocery store. I honestly don’t care if it’s good or bad for me, it is my new guilty pleasure! This morning I had 2 strips of turkey bacon and eggs with my Dunkin’ K-cup and I literally felt like this:

Needless to say I had an amazingly productive day at work and killed my run. 2013 we are less than 48 hours in and you are already treating me so well and lifting my spirits. Tomorrow… I’ll share with you the amazeballs dinner I had tonight featuring, you guessed it- polenta!

(Yes, I realize I just wrote an entire blog post about bacon… and not even “real” bacon. I promise I have a deeper side. Keep reading, you’ll see)

Leave a Reply

