yum town

Well, one of my 13 Goals of 2013 should be to get a good digital camera. My iPhone isn’t cutting it anymore!

Anyways… last night I finally got to try out an ingredient I’ve only ever had with pasta gravy- polenta. Awhile-back Spatularette Meghan wrote about her use of polenta when she picked through a Trader Joe’s for last minute supper ideas before Hurricane Sandy. I’d been meaning to try it away from traditional Italian recipes, so while I was at the food store yesterday fulfilling my bacon craving, I picked some up to do some experimenting. I was also excited to try out my new set of professional kitchen knives!

After my night run and a quick shower I got down to cooking. I read a few recipes that combined polenta and salmon, but I wanted to incorporate more veggies and less “heavy” add-ins. So, I can’t really tell you how much I used but this is a pretty good estimate I suppose. Trust me, it was packed with flavor and super yummy.

about 1.5 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

dash of salt and pepper

1 clove of garlic

1/4 of a teeny red onion

2 lemon slices & (one to top the mushroom, the other for its juice if desired)

about a 1/4 inch thick slice of butter

1 portobello mushroom

4 oz of salmon

1/2 inch slice of polenta (more if desired)

chopped parsley

fresh green beans (steamed)

In a piece of tin foil I laid the salmon down and drizzled some olive oil over top. Bottom side up I stuffed the portobello mushroom with the butter, garlic, and onions then capped it off with a 1/2 inch slice of polenta. I lightly brushed olive oil over the top and sprinkled some parsley, salt, and pepper on top with a small squeeze of lemon juice. Close foil and bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 25-27 minutes. I added a side of steamed green beans… Juicy, flavorful, perfect refuel dinner after a quickie run! This is probably more of a summer dish because it’s light, but after all the meat-y and pasta suppers around the holidays fish was just what the doctor ordered 🙂

Leave a Reply

