dear marathoner,

When we met three years ago, we were two gallery interns working towards our masters in San Francisco. You were my first friend on the west coast, and the hardest to say good-bye to. Friends like you come around once in a lifetime; we manage to stay connected in one another’s day-to-day lives despite living on separate coasts. That alone shows me that friends can grow together even when they are a part.

You’ve grown as an athlete since I first met you.  You were the spinning queen that didn’t understand how I could run long disatnces. I remember you as 10 minutes on, ten minutes off. Little by little you added minutes, which turned into miles and before I knew it you were running the San Diego Half. We ran the San Francisco Half together in June and I was proud of see you cross the finish and ready to take on another challenge. Now, here you are prepping for Sunday’s LA MARATHON.

I just wanted to take a minute and remind you of how far you’ve come and how far you’re about to go (26.2 miles whooo hoooo!) Something my coach used to tell me all the time was “trust your training.” I never understood what he meant, until the night before race day. You have to believe that all the miles you’ve done… all the training plans… all the early mornings and longs runs have prepared you for this one day. It’s just one day… just any other Sunday long run… with one hell of a necklace waiting for you at the end 🙂

It will be one of the most physically demanding things you will ever do, but the feeling of crossing the finish will be an emotion and memory to last a lifetime. You’re about to accomplish something less than 0.5% of the world’s population ever do, and I always knew you could do it! Keep those legs moving… keep looking forward… keep relaxed, and take in your water & sugar. Remember that I’ll be thinking of you every step of the way and my phone will be buzzing with notifications as you cross each check-in…

Casey, I’m so proud of you! I cannot wait to hear from you after YOU RUN YOUR FIRST MARATHON! You can do this, believe in yourself.

xo,  IMG_1761

Pam

One thought on “dear marathoner,

  1. I love you Pam!!! I am so lucky to have you in my life and not a day goes by that I don’t think about you! You inspire me everyday to run! LA 2014?

Leave a Reply

