spring has sprung in Lewisburg

One of the best parts of marathon training is how crazy my appetite gets (good because of all the yummy foods I cook and snacks to pack, slightly bad on my wallet ha-ha). I love my Saturday post-run burgers, one because the Lewisburg Hotel makes the best burger I’ve ever tasted.. and two because I’m always too tired to full-out cook. But by Sunday I’m ready to head back into the kitchen…

Sunday I opted to whip out the trusty crock- pot even though I normally associate this handy kitchen appliance with winter soups and cold-weather fare. However, with loads of laundry and quality dog time in store for the day, I wanted a meal I could “set and forget it”.

I opted for a lighter “spring chili” and homemade corn bread. While most chili recipes use a canned or diced tomato base, I’m kind of weird about tomatoes. And, for a summer version, using organic vegetable broth packs in the flavor without making the meal seem quite so “heavy”. It’s super easy and just what my tummy wanted:

Ingredients: meal

–       ¾ of one package of ground turkey meat

–       One can of organic, low sodium beans (I use black)

–       Half of one head of cauliflower, chopped

–       Two green peppers, diced

–       One carton of button mushrooms, cubed

–       ¼ of a red onion, diced

–       4 cups of vegetable stock

–       2 cloves of garlic

–       Ground cumin, red pepper flakes, hot sauce, salt and pepper to taste

1)   Brown the turkey in a sauté pan with extra virgin olive oil. Season with red pepper and cumin to taste.

2)   Add all your veggies and stock into the crock-pot with the browned turkey.

3)   Re-season with salt, pepper, hot sauce, etc. as desired

4)   Set the crock-pot to “low” heat and let sit for 7- 8 hours, stir occasionally.

ice cream Depending on your appetite, about two cups satisfies me as a serving. This will make dinner for me for about 3-4 days.  Serve with warm corn muffin and enjoy 🙂 Dessert for the night ended up being ice cream from Penn State’s Creamery. They make seriously, the BEST ice cream I’ve ever had. I’m addicted to the chocolate chip cookie dough with sprinkles. No cone for me… I’m a cup girl all the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

